Cat Evolution

Wow! First Jerry Coyne’s blog post on domestic cat genetics, and then before bed I run across Aron Ra’s YouTube video on cat evolution. We’ve been thinking about getting a couple of kittens, so I suppose this is a sign that now is a good time.

One thing that confuses me, though, is that Aron refers to the domestic house cat as Felis sylvestrus, Jerry calls them Felis catus, and I learned in school that it was Felis domesticus. A quick search tells me that Felis catus is the proper nomenclature (at least for house cats).

I’m glad I figured that out… at least I’ll be able to sleep tonight (if I can resist downloading papers).

This entry was posted in Cats, Evolution and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

